Awaiting Inspiration


Stopping by woods on a snowy evening; whose woods these are I think I know… Oh, who am I kidding… It’s mid-day in Southern California, not a flake in sight, unless you count the white caps of the Sierras thirty miles away. And, certainly I am no Robert Frost. There is no wood, either. But there are trees. I am cutting across the dorms on the Cal State campus. There are concrete paths lined with trees, though not very thick. With names like “Rivendell” and “Entwood” something more like a dark forest with a sun-blocking canopy would be expected… but I digress.

I park in the residence parking lot so that I can take this walk every Tuesday. The walk to the classroom building is a bit longer this way, but parking closer would mean fighting for a space. Besides, I would miss the song of the birds. I take this walk to gain inspiration from the trees, who have always been a faithful muse. But they are not telling me stories today. Early March means that many are still groggy from their winter slumber. It may be better to wait until late spring, when they are fully awake. For now, I walk slowly to class. I feel the cool breeze brush against my face; I hear the birds chirping in the pines; I listen to the water as it rains down from the fountain. I walk and I think of nothing at all. No story will come to me today but I will listen, anyway. Perhaps the trees will have something else to say…

About Kat Reed

I am many things: a wife, a mother, an employee, and a student (CSUB). I write as a hobby and dream of owning a small bookstore with a selection of rare collectible books I will never have the heart to sell, shelves of new and used books, big comfy chairs so my patrons can relax with a cup of coffee or hot tea from the small coffee bar... in the window will be a sign that reads: "The love of learning, the sequestered nooks, And all the sweet serenity of books" - H.W. Longfellow. Until then, I will continue to write and dream.... View all posts by Kat Reed

One response to “Awaiting Inspiration

Leave a Reply

